My Top 10 Anticipated Games of E3 2016

E3-2016

E3 2016 was the first year I wasn’t very enthusiastic about the gaming conferences as a whole.  Although I’m a PC gamer, the Microsoft and Sony E3 conferences were the most exciting for me.  My Twitter certainly showed my excitement with active live tweeting that pursued all day as well as my interaction with other gamers who follow my Twitter page and who were just passing by.

I wished this list was longer, but many of the games didn’t catch my interest this year.  I hope while many of them are in development the future updates change my mind and I become excited over the ones that didn’t make this list.

.10. South Park: The Fractured But Whole

South Park: The Fractured But Whole is set to continue where the previous game (The Stick of Truth) left off.  As in the previous game, you play as the new kid in South Park, but in this game you develop your superhero alter ego with the help of Coon (Eric Cartman’s superhero alter ego) and friends as they parody the DC and Marvel movie universes.   The dialogue between the characters is the best yet; I actually thought I was watching an episode of South Park on Comedy Central. The gameplay will be similar to Stick of Truth, making this experience just as enjoyable as the last.

Sidenote: Matt Stone and Trey Parker announced that if you preorder this game now, you’ll get The Stick of Truth free with purchase to download.  That’s a damn good deal… 

9. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild’s graphics blew me away.  The colors made me stare at the screen like a child would stare at a rainbow, that’s how beautiful it was. Link once again gracefully runs across the screen as he explores dungeons and now an open world environment. I’m very jealous that this is for the Wii U, but I tend to forget that this is a Nintendo exclusive.

Link was also equipped with a new feature: jumping. I know there will be fans out there making Link jump everywhere, and I won’t blame you…

 

8. Resident Evil: Biohazard (RE7)

This game has many critics (and fans) thinking it will fail because of the failure 6 was.  But, when looking at the E3 trailer and playable demo that was free of download after its debut, I am willing to give this game a chance. Although the game gave me a PT (Silent Hills) type of vibe, I’m still sucked in.  RE7: Biohazard takes place after RE6, I’m anxious to see what zombies, mutations and jump scares await me as I play…

 

7. Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon: Wildlands

Unfortunately, The Division didn’t do so well.  I say unfortunately because I had high hopes for this game, especially after watching the trailer and the gameplay reveals.  After Ghost Recon: Wildlands debuted at E3, I’m willing to toss my opinion of the previous game aside to give this one a try.  Watching the gameplay for Ghost Recon makes me think this shooting game has a chance…

Let’s hope this doesn’t disappoint me like The Division did….

6. Tekken 7

I am an avid fan of the Tekken series, so this needed to be on my list.  What confirmed my anticipation of the game (besides me being a fangirl of the series): the trailer/gameplay reveal with Akuma and Heihachi Mishima, two of the strongest men in fighting game history, battling each other in the same game.

The great part about this debut it the reveal that Tekken 7 is also an XBOX One and PC exclusive.  The other games in the Tekken series were all exclusively for the PlayStation.    I’m not fond of playing fighting games on PC, but I will make an exception for PC (because I am mainly a PC gamer).

Sidenote: Nina’s bridal gown character concept reminds me of the Bride in Kill Bill.  From the trailer, she looks like she kicks ass like the Bride does, too. 

 

 

5. Horizon Zero Dawn

It’s been a year since we’ve heard of anything revolving around this game… that is until the trailer debuted at Sony’s E3 conference.  Besides the stunning graphics and fluid gameplay, I was beyond excited for the female protagonist Aloy and how similar of a feel she has to Samus Aran in Metroid.  I know these games aren’t in the same genre, but both of these women play a major role in science fiction games.

Set in a post apocalyptic world, it is an open world game that I am eager to explore…

 

4. Detroit Become Human

This decision making graphic adventure follows an android named Connor as the decisions he (you the player) make determine whether he can save a hostage from another android that has gone rogue.  (Think the game Life Is Strange, but with a N.C.I.S. TV. show feel to it.)  I’m excited for the large range of options you have for decisions which in turn lead to a different ending, which thankfully are more than two.

 

3. Final Fantasy XV

Final Fantasy XV (15) was one of my most highly anticipated games (along with the FFVII remake), but after the trailer debuted at E3, I was extremely disappointed.  Nothing about the trailer excited me, it was like I was going to play the last game all over again: that was until I saw the gameplay for the first boss fight.  After watching that, I’m willing to ignore the trailer and let the gameplay convince me that this is well worth purchasing.

2. Crash Bandicoot Trilogy Remastered

Talk about a throwback ! When it was announced that the first three Crash Bandicoot games will be remastered for the PS4, I cheered just as loud as the audience did.  I stated in an earlier blog post that I hoped for a Crash Bandicoot revival [x], but I’m extremely excited for this! I’m pretty sure there are many fans that owned the original PlayStation where they played all of the Crash Bandicoot games, so to have the first three remastered and brought to the current gen system is amazing!

Sidenote: I knew the Crash Bandicoot Easter egg in Uncharted 4 was telling us something… 

 

1. God of War 4

Remember when Kratos was a raging bastard who was so angry, you thought he’d either have a heart attack or just drop dead? In the latest addition to the God Of War series, Kratos is learning to control his anger, years after he defeated the Gods in Greek Mythology.  The game, which is now set in the world of Norse Mythology, follows a much older Kratos and his young son as he deals with the consequences of his actions years after his anger caused him to go on a killing spree.

I have high hopes for this game after watching the full gameplay trailer.  I hope for a solid story to accompany the beautiful graphics and heavy duty gameplay…

 

 

I couldn’t leave you hanging without listing my honorable mentions:

 

Watch Dogs 2

Watch Dogs wasn’t the best to me; but Watch Dogs 2 looks like it’ll blow it’s predecessor out of the water.  Playing as a hacker named Marcus, better gameplay and game controls help you with your hacking abilities (which are more than the first game) to maneuver the game and regain control of a shady organization.

Days Gone

I know what you’re thinking, “Another zombie game?!” But based on the gameplay demo at E3, Days Gone actually looks like it’ll succeed in giving you an actual zombie apocalypse experience in an open world game.  …just don’t compare it to The Walking Dead (comics and video game) or you’ll be disappointed…

Death Stranding

I made this an honorable mention because I want to know more about it before I commit to purchasing it.  I want gameplay to help brand this into my mind along with Norman Reedus! I can say one thing: Hideo Kojima (creator of the Metal Gear Solid game series) has something big in store for us..

As I wait for each games release date, I’ll be checking around the net for updates.  Until then, I’ll be [impatiently] awaiting for the release for each game…

A/N: Did you like this list? Did I miss a game, or two, or you want to debate about this list? Sound off below or on my Twitter page.

~Taneisha

Leave a Reply

